Initiatives & Products

Identification and utilization of open source software

Saudi Arabia has been keen to use open source software (free software). The CIT national plan describes the open source software as “software that can be freely accessed and edited. It does not belong to the ownership of any party”.

In its third year, the plan’s objective provides for “ Development of the CIT industry, concentrating on strategic areas and encouraging business enterprises”. The policies to meet this objective include: Boosting the efforts of CIT localization.  A project entitled “Supporting open source software industry” has emerged therefrom.

The plan describes the project as seeking to “encourage local programming industry depending on free software for its programing requirements and creating a thriving market through selling of services and technical support and cost saving by becoming less dependent on software licenses for over-the-shelf-software. The project seeks to adopt supporting of open source applications, research and development in this area”. 

King Abdul Aziz City for Science & Technology (KACST) is taking care of this project.  It has established the National Program for the Technologies of Free and Open Source Software dubbed (Motah​). The program encourages and boosts using of free and open source software through creation of partnerships with several partners from both the public and private sectors in order to meet the program’s objectives.  The program provides and facilitates various activity aspects of the free and open source software e.g. developing and supporting of software,  building of open source resources, establishing of software digital library and supporting of research in the area of open source software.

Considering the crucial significance of this matter, an initiative for identification and using of open source software has been included in the e-Government  2nd Action Plan. The initiative objectives provides for: 

  • Encouraging of identification, development and utilization of open source software in Saudi government agencies.
  • Delivering of advisory services on open source software applications in government agencies.
  • Providing of guidelines on the world best practices with respect to introducing of open source software in government agencies.
  • Provide awareness and training for government agencies on utilization of open source software​.
  • Create favorable environments through which interdepartmental collaboration can be maximized,  ensure sharing of respective  ideas, best practices and achievements.

Initiative implementation tools:

  • Investigate existing status in government agencies with respect to adopting and utilization of free software.
  • Conduct training workshops on important issues in the area of adoption and utilization of open source software in government agencies.
  • Provide support to government agencies on developing of strategies, policies and business processes for utilization of open source software.

These fruitful efforts have enticed a lot of government agencies  on the significance of the open source software, adoption of the concept and creating a keen interest to utilize them.

  1. From its side, the e-Government Program has adopted the open source software concept.  The following parties have benefited from the program in establishing of  their own websites and electronic platforms:

  2. 1- Saudi Community: A social platform that boosts social involvement and transparency between the public and the government agencies through discussion and suggestions. It allows interaction between members of the public and the government agencies through discussion panels, Saudi Blog and Our Ideas platform..

  3. 2- Transition Community: A platform for IT and e-Government professionals. Through discussion and suggestions, it boosts knowledge sharing among professionals on the Saudi society e-transition. It allows interaction among them using discussion panels, blog and ideas platforms..

  4. 3- Open data portal: an e-Government initiative designed to create an open data center for the public and to boost transparency and involvement.  It is a platform that publishes government agencies’ databases for access by the public who can download and use the data.

المبادرات والمنتجات

مبادرة استكشاف و استخدام مصادر البرمجيات المفتوحة

اهتمت المملكة العربية السعودية باستخدام البرمجيات الحرة مفتوحة المصدر (البرمجيات الحرة)، وقد عرّفتها الخطة الوطنية للاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات بالمملكة العربية السعودية بأنها "برمجيات يمكن الاطلاع على مكوناتها وتعديلها بكل حرية، ولا تعود ملكيتها إلى جهة معينة".

ونصت الخطة ضمن هدفها العام الثالث على "تنمية صناعة الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات، والتركيز على مجالات إستراتيجية، وتشجيع تأسيس أعمال حرة"، وجاء من ضمن السياسات التنفيذية لتحقيق هذا الهدف: دعم جهود توطين الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات، والتي انبثق عنها مشروع "دعم صناعات البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر".

وعرّفت الخطة المشروع بأنه يسعى إلى "تشجيع قيام صناعة برمجية محلية تعتمد على البرامج الحرة لتسد احتياجاتها البرمجية، وإيجاد سوق عمل متطورة لتحقيق أرباح من خلال بيع الخدمات والدعم الفني، وتوفير المبالغ المالية من خلال تقليل الاعتماد على تراخيص البرامج التجارية. ويهدف هذا المشروع إلى دعم تبني التطبيقات مفتوحة المصدر، ودعم الجهود البحثية والتطويرية في هذا المجال".

وقد تولّت تنفيذ هذا المشروع مدينة الملك عبدالعزيز للعلوم والتقنية، والتي أنشأت البرنامج الوطني لتقنيات البرمجيات الحرة ومفتوحة المصدر (متاح​)، ويعمل على تشجيع وتعزيز استخدام البرمجيات الحرة ومفتوحة المصدر من خلال إقامة شراكات مع أطراف عدة في القطاعين العام والخاص بغية تحقيق أهداف البرنامج. ويقوم البرنامج بتوفير وتسهيل أوجه النشاط المتنوعة والمتعلقة  بالبرمجيات الحرة/ مفتوحة المصدر، مثل: تطوير ودعم البرمجيات، وبناء الموارد مفتوحة المصدر، وإنشاء مكتبة رقمية للبرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر، ودعم البحث في مجال البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر.

ونظراً للأهمية الكبيرة لهذا الموضوع، فقد تم إدراج مبادرة استكشاف واستخدام مصادر البرمجيات المفتوحة ضمن الخطة التنفيذية الثانية للتعاملات الإلكترونية الحكومية في المملكة العربية السعودية، ويشرف على تنفيذها برنامج التعاملات الإلكترونية الحكومية (يسر)، وتهدف إلى:

  • تشجيع استكشاف و تطوير و استخدام البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر في المؤسسات الحكومية في المملكة العربية السعودية.
  • تقديم خدمات استشارية تخص البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر واستخدامها في المؤسسات الحكومية.
  • توفير دليل استرشادي يحتوي على أفضل الممارسات العالمية فيما يخص استخدام البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر في المؤسسات الحكومية.
  • توفير التوعية والتدريب فيما يخص استخدام البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر في المؤسسات الحكومية.
  • توفير بيئات يمكن من خلالها زيادة التعاون بين المؤسسات الحكومية ومشاركة الأفكار و أفضل الممارسات و الإنجازات التي تخص هذا الموضوع.

ومن أدوات تطبيق المبادرة:

  • استكشاف الوضع الحالي في القطاع الحكومي تجاه تبني و استخدام البرمجيات الحرة.
  • عقد ورش تدريبية تحتوي على موضوعات مهمة في مجال تبني و استعمال البرمجيات الحرة في القطاع الحكومي.
  • توفير الدعم للمؤسسات الحكومية فيما يخص تطوير الاستراتيجيات و السياسات و الإجراءات التي تخص استخدام البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر.

وأثمرت هذه الجهود عن استشعار الكثير من الجهات الحكومية لأهمية البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر، وتبنيها لهذا المفهوم، والحرص على الاستفادة منها.

وبدوره، فقد تبنى برنامج التعاملات الإلكترونية الحكومية مفهوم البرمجيات مفتوحة المصدر، واستفاد منها في إنشائه لعدد من المواقع والمنصات الإلكترونية الخدمية، ومنها:

  1. 1- مجتمع سعودي: وهي منصة اجتماعية تعزز المشاركة الاجتماعية والشفافية بين الجمهور والجهات الحكومية عن طريق النقاش وطرح الأفكار، وهي تتيح التفاعل بين الجمهور والجهات الحكومية عن طريق مجموعات النقاش ومدونة سعودي ومنصة أفكارنا.
  2. 2- مجتمع التحول: وهي منصة للمختصين في تقنية المعلومات والتعاملات الإلكترونية الحكومية تعزز المشاركة المعرفية بين المختصين في مسيرة التحول الإلكتروني بالمجتمع السعودي عن طريق النقاش وطرح الأفكار، وهي تتيح التفاعل بينهم عن طريق مجموعات النقاش ومدونة ومنصات للأفكار.
  3. 3- بوابة البيانات المفتوحة: وهي إحدى مبادرات برنامج (يسر)، وتهدف لإنشاء مركز بيانات مفتوح للجمهور وتمكين الشفافية وتعزيز المشاركة، وهي منصة تنشر قواعد البيانات الخاصة بالوزارات والهيئات الحكومية، وتجعل هذه البيانات متاحة للجمهور، ويستطيع الجمهور من خلالها إيجاد وتحميل واستخدام البيانات الحكومية.
 للاطلاع على وثائق وأدلة مبادرة البرمجيات المفتوحة المصدر​.